2014 cookbook challenge

So I stated one of my 2014 resolutions was to cook at least one recipe from each of my cookbooks/cooking magazines. I did some cleaning/organizing on Saturday and pulled all my books together, here’s what we’re working with.

my new best friends

my new best friends

I have quite an assortment of books there. Some new ones, some old ones (hello, 1997), some healthier ones (Living Lean/Four Hour Chef) and then 2 versions of Cupcake Heaven, haha. I haven’t quite decided how I’ll go about picking the books, but I figured I’d blog about it, so I could check them off.

I’m not limiting myself to one recipe from each book, but I have to do at least one recipe. I’m also not going to be all food bloggery with nice photos and step-by-step directions, but I figured I’d stick up at least a photo of the end game (most likely from my iphone) and some basic ingredients/directions if I like the recipe.

The first book I chose was Living Lean. Keith bought me this book and requested a few recipes. He really really* misses pasta, so first up was:

Power Pasta Sauce

(slightly adapted from Living Lean)

Ingredients

1 bell pepper – chopped
1 medium onion – chopped
1/2 small zuchhini – chopped
2 cloves garlic
2 – 15oz cans diced tomatoes
1 – 28oz can crushed tomatoes
pinch – salt, pepper, basil, oregano
1-2T grapeseed oil

The recipe didn’t call for the zuchhini, but I had it in the fridge and figured it couldn’t hurt. Also called for all diced tomatoes, but I wanted something a little more saucy. Next time I’d sub actual tomato sauce for the crushed tomatoes.

pps1

It was pretty simple. The recipe calls for cooking the turkey and veggies separately, but that seemed like a waste of a pan. I browned the turkey with the oil, when it was almost ready threw in the veggies til softened, then threw in the tomatoes and let simmer for 30 minutes or so, salting as needed.

pps2

Served over thin spaghetti.

Keith liked it, although he requested it be more saucy next time. I didn’t actually eat it, I was eating leftovers, but will eat it tomorrow night.

One book down, seventeen to go!

 

*I don’t miss pasta at all. Definitely not traditional spaghetti. I have never been a huge fan and the spaghetti squash we eat completely takes care of that.

**Post contains affliate links. Not that anyone will ever click them/use them but I figured why not.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. That looks delicious. I like the crushed tomatoes but sauce sounds good too.I will have to try this recipe. I can’t wait to see the other 17! Thanks for sharing

    Reply
    • thanks! I actually finally ate it tonight and I’d recommend adding more garlic and more salt. it was a little bland, but pretty good!

      Reply

share the love...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

