chocolate, salted caramel, pretzel…cupcakes.

Oh yes I did.

chocolate and salted caramel pretzel cupcakes

Saturday was my cousin Adam’s birthday party and I decided to make him some cupcakes. He loves caramel so I knew they were going to include caramel, but it wasn’t until I was looking around for recipes that I decided exactly what they were going to be.

chocolate and salted caramel pretzel cupcakes

 

Chocolate cake filled with salted caramel. Topped with salted caramel buttercream. Dipped in crushed pretzels, drizzled with more caramel.

The chocolate cake – I used the recipe from my baking addiction. Warning: it is a doctored box mix but it makes the best chocolate cake I’ve ever had.

The caramel…well…hah. I decided to try to make the overnight crockpot caramel that requires you to cook a can of sweetened condensed milk for 8-9 hours in the crockpot. Woke up, nothing had exploded, was pretty excited. Keith asked if I had tasted it and I said “Oh, I probably should in case it didn’t work.” Opened it up, tasted it, was unimpressed. I didn’t think it tasted like caramel…just like sweet milk. Not a fan. Bought some pre-made caramel at the grocery store instead and added some salt. Perfecto.

The buttercream – 1.5 sticks of butter, probably 1-1.5 cups of the caramel, some salt, 2 (16oz) bags of powdered sugar. It was so thick I thought my hands were going to fall off while piping.

Then I just crushed up some pretzels, mushed the cupcakes in them, topped with a pretzel and drizzled some more caramel via ziplock.

 

Cupcakes went over really well, all 2 dozen were gone in maybe an hour. I split one with Keith and they were super rich. I think I could have used even more salt. Overall, I was really happy with them!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. feedthemonster

     /  April 30, 2012

    Looks amazing. Salted caramel anything is delicious.

    Reply

share the love...

