six at heart

I am so busy these days. Weekends go by in a total blur, we’re running from here to there and even when I’m at home there are a million things to do. I miss the pre-house weekends when my favorite thing to do was sit around all weekend doing nothing.

Last weekend was no exception. I babysat Friday night, which was pretty nice. By the time I got there, it was bath time, then we watched a movie, I put them to bed and read until the parents came home. The dad got home first and while chatting he says, “How come they like you so much?” ” Um because I am still their age on the inside?” He said as soon as they found out I was coming over, they were jumping up and down haha.

Sometimes I feel like I am a grown adult, why am I still babysitting? But then I hear something like that or have a nice quiet moment where the kids scootch a little closer and it’s all worth it. One of the last times I babysat the little boy kept calling me Gina. Finally I said “WHO is Gina?!” His sister then explained that is their other babysitter. I mentioned something to a girl at work about the conversation and she asked if it bothered me that they had another babysitter. “Nah, maybe it would have at one time, but I am so busy these days I don’t mind. But it would bother me if they liked her better than me.”  Haha, so mature.

Saturday morning we woke up and went to more garage sales. I bought an Atlas jar, a blue Ball jar (both with glass lids) and a blue vase. I find I enjoy garage sales of old men the best. Old women usually have stuff that is clearly old-women-y. Young couples usually have tons of kid stuff, which I don’t need. Old men have cool house stuff.

Then we went to brunch at Verde. We have been to Verde probably more than any other restaurant this year (4-5 times since November) and it has never disappointed. We have been trying to go to brunch since they started offering it a few weeks ago and finally made it.

Brunch always stumps me. I can never decide if I want to go sweet or savory and as soon as I order one, I want the other.   
 

burch at verde

I ordered caballeros pobres which was huge pieces of french toast stuffed with a mild jalapeño cream cheese, covered in mango marmalade with cinnamon infused syrup. Which was excellente. Also bizcocho which is a plaintain/corn bisquit. (hooray for bread!) Keith got the chilaquiles, which I also wanted. They were the star of the brunch and I couldn’t stop stealing them. We will definitely be back.

After a very delightful nap when we got home, I finished a little craft I was doing:

 Untitled

I missed Memorial Day, but I figure that sucker can stay up until Labor Day. I saw the wreath on pinterest and knew I could do it. All it is is a wreath (I bought a straw one because it was cheaper), felt and straight pins. I bought 350 straight pins and 6 pieces of each color felt and got this far:

 
(towel underneath because the straw wreath shed EVERYWHERE.)

I then ran out and bought 450 more pins and 2 more pieces of red and white (I still had blue). It was a pretty cheap project and pretty easy (though time consuming). I just watched some tv while I worked. (I recommend a thimble or something to push the pins in with because doing 400+ hurts.)

I had wanted to buy a wreath for a while because there is a hook in the front door and the wood is semi-faded in a wreath shape.  (Which must mean they had always had one.)

 

Untitled

I think it looks pretty darn cute! (Don’t mind the grass, we’re going for the hillbilly chic look.) Sunday included the fastest Ikea trip ever, but that’s another post.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. not so itsy bitsy | jellyjars

share the love...

