so comes love

I pierced my lip when I was 15 (by myself! such a rebel!) and got my nose pierced (both sides) at 19. I removed the lip ring years ago but still love my nose rings! When people would see the piercings they would always ask if I had tattoos. And I always had to say no. Until now.

Saturday, I got a tattoo! It has really been a long time coming. I have almost gone for it a few different times, going so far as to have things drawn up, but I either chickened out didn’t have the money. So about two weeks ago, with Keith’s prompting, it was time to roll. I had a few ideas of things I wanted to get (something in memory of my Dad) but wanted something simple for the first one. I have always loved literary tattoos, I decided that was the way to go. I immediately knew I wanted something from e.e. cummings, who I have loved since high school. My favorite poem:

since feeling is first
who pays any attention
to the syntax of things
will never wholly kiss you;
wholly to be a fool
while Spring is in the world

my blood approves,
and kisses are a better fate
than wisdom
lady i swear by all flowers. Don’t cry
—the best gesture of my brain is less than
your eyelids’ flutter which says

we are for each other: then
laugh, leaning back in my arms
for life’s not a paragraph

And death i think is no parenthesis

I love it so so much. I spent a while trying to decide on a line from it to become my first tattoo. I was having a hard time coming up with anything that could stand alone as I didn’t want an entire paragraph on my back. I was considering the first line/title “since feeling is first” or “for life’s not a paragraph” but decided to take a look at some of the other poems. Almost immediately, I stumbled across this one:

let it go – the
smashed word broken
open vow or
the oath cracked length
wise – let it go it
was sworn to
go

let them go – the
truthful liars and
the false fair friends
and the boths and
neithers – you must let them go they
were born
to go

let all go – the
big small middling
tall bigger really
the biggest and all
things – let all go
dear

so comes love

I continued to look for a week or two, but kept coming back to this one. The last line was perfect. The whole poem was perfect. I think it’s a great statement about life. Let go of all the drama/lies/pettiness. I think I do an okay job of this, but everyone can always do better. So it was settled. I spent a few more days picking out a font I liked. I wanted something feminine, but not too fancy. I printed out the line in 6 different fonts, asked a few people their opinion and each one chose the one I was leaning toward.

The tattoo itself took maybe 5 minutes. It did not feel good, but it was over so quickly, it didn’t matter. After he finished, I said “I’m ready for my next one!” The tattoo artist* said, “That’s how it is. You spend 5 years planning for your first tattoo and 5 minutes planning for the second.”

I completely love it. I can’t see it at all times, but I’ll catch it in the mirror and it just makes me so happy. I don’t have any immediate plans for number 2, but it will definitely be happening.

so comes love

 

*Ryan at Old Soul Tattoo in Canonsburg. My good friend Brittney has gotten dozens of tattoos there and many of my other friends have as well and I can’t recommend them enough. Incredibly talented guys, super nice and didn’t scoff at the fact that I was terrified, haha.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. sarah

     /  August 22, 2012

    So awesome katrina! And a great sentiment. I think the tattoo looks beautiful but strong and flowy and like spring…sorry if that’s weird! I think it as gorgeous and smart as you are!

    Reply
  2. Matt K.

     /  August 22, 2012

    Wimp! Welcome to Club Inked.

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  August 23, 2012

    Really???You got that tattoo in Canonsburg and didn’t come and see your mother?..tsk..tsk

    Reply

share the love...

