it’s done! it’s done! it’s done! (sort of)

So this weekend I decided to tackle more wallpaper. I hadn’t even walked into the living room since Labor Day weekend, so it was high time I got back into it. I woke up around 10ish on Saturday and walked downstairs and filled/plugged in the steamer. I ate some breakfast while the water heated and was probably in there working by 10:30.

When I last left off, the wall of doom looked like this.

never ending wallpaper

I worked for about 4 hours on Saturday, refilling the steamer once. By the time I ran out of water the second time, Keith was almost home and so I called it quits for the day. Instead I went outside and raked for a good hour. Keith was driving the tractor around picking up leaves and then I’d rake them all away. It was sort of exhausting.

This was what I had left on Saturday:

so close!

excuse the blown out picture.

Sooooo close! I decided I had to finish on Sunday. So I woke up this morning and got back to work. We had to leave at 2 to pick up my in-laws’ dogs, so I set a goal to be done by 1 so I could shower.

12:45:

done!!!!

I came downstairs after my shower and told Keith, “All the wallpaper is gone!!!…Except for the stuff all over the floor…” I don’t like to clean up right after I finish steaming because the wallpaper is sopping wet. So I’ll do that tomorrow-ish (maybe) once it has had a chance to dry. Next step is scrubbing down the walls to get rid of the leftover glue which will probably be a multi-day project in itself. Then I can fill the millions of holes and eventually, maybe (one day this year), I can paint!

Aside from the fact that my thumb and index finger on my right hand hurt to the touch, I am soooo happy to be (sort of) done with the stupid wallpaper! The only room left in the house with wallpaper is the dining room and it is only the upper half of the walls. I am hoping that since the kitchen and living room were such terrors, the universe will give me a break on the dining room and it will peel off in sheets.

Hooray!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. sarah

     /  October 16, 2012

    Somehow I missed this post….but yaaaaayyyyy! Good for you!

    Reply

share the love...

