nerd alert 2012

So I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions, but I did have a goal this year…to read 75 books. I have always been a big reader but once the internet came along, I would spend so much time reading wesbites, I wasn’t really reading books anymore.  In 2011, I decided to get back to it and read 50 books. I absolutely love the website goodreads both for keeping track of the books I read and getting recommendations for new books.

Well, once I hit 75 books sometime this fall, I decided to go for the gold and try for 100.

goodreads

Woohoo! Goodreads also breaks it down by pages. I read 39,122 pages this year, which averages out to 107 pages a day. The longest book I read was A Storm of Swords which clocked in at 1,178 pages.

Out of the 100 books I read, only 10 of them received 1-2 stars from me. You can see my full list with ratings here, but some of my top books in no particular order…

1. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

2. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

3. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

5. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

6. Still Alice by Lisa Genova

7. The Greenhouse by Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir

8. The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

9. The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

10. Johnny Got His Gun by Dalton Trumbo

11. War Brides by Helen Bryan

12. Zeitoun by Dave Eggers

13. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

14. The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

15. Wonder by R.J. Palacio

My absolute favorite book this year is a 12 way tie.  Not even kidding, haha. The months of July, August and September found me devouring the five books from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin. I’m sure everyone knows what they are so I won’t even bother explaining. I keep wanting to slip back into that world but the 6th book isn’t supposed to come out until 2015. The Game of Thrones show will definitely make it a bit easier, though. Also, I recommend watching at least a season of the show before reading the books…it really helped keep the 32423 characters and their crazy names straight.

At the beginning of this year, I read Wool Omnibus by Hugh Howey and it immediately jumped to the top of my list. It is a collection of 5 books and the 6th and 7th (First Shift – Legacy, Second Shift – Order) also came out this year. It is Sci-Fi/Dystopian fiction, but even if you are not a fan of sci-fi, you should read it. There is nothing far-fetched about it. No spaceships, no robots, no time travel. Just a group of people living in an underground silo. So so good, I want to go back and read it again.

I mentioned to Keith yesterday that I had finished my 100th book for the year and he expressed doubt that there is anything left to read…but oh is there. Can’t wait to see how many books I can read in 2013. (Probably more considering the length of the ASOIAF books).

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. nerd alert 2013 | jellyjars
  2. nerd alert 2014 | jellyjars

share the love...

