trucking right along…

Happy 2013! I had the 1st and took the 2nd off of work and I did what any good little DIYer does and painted!

After giving my hand a rest from the last living room project, I was dying to start painting the trim.  And die I did.

You see, my living room has dental molding. And while it is lovely to look at, it is NOT lovely to paint.  I had to go in between each tooth (I’m pretending that’s what those are called…why else is it called dental molding?) with the paintbrush. And as soon as I moved on, paint would drip out from between the teeth (this is getting weird) and I would have to go back and swipe again. Repeat times a million. I was making such slow progress I almost gave up.

Untitled

The problem was I was getting too much paint in there, but if I didn’t have enough paint on the brush it wouldn’t go in. And then I had a stroke of genius.

Untitled

Enter the plastic craft brush. With stiff, coarse bristles, it couldn’t hold that much paint (meaning less drips), but was small enough that I could get it between the teeth.

It was a lot quicker going once I started using that little guy. It still was not even remotely quick though. It’s a huge room and there is ~78 feet (?) of molding. It took me 5 hours to do all of the top trim. And while it was already starting to look SO MUCH BETTER, it kind of sucked that it took that long. I had a little paint left so I did half of the one built-in as well.

half and half

The next day was my birthday, but I was not letting that stop me. My mother-in-law offered to come help and that made it go a lot quicker. We still only got one coat of white on everything, but at least we got it on everything!

mid-painting

Oh, did I mention my saint of a mother in law stayed and painted while Keith and I went out to dinner? This was all that was left when we got back. One ugly door, which was quickly whipped into shape. This is where we are now.

white!

loving my builtins soooo much more now that they are not yellow-ish.

whiteeeee! makes me feel so clean!

whiteeeeee! the mantle is going light grey.

The mantle and the doorway will both be light grey. The entryway is to the right and it will also be light grey. I will eventually paint the shelves inside that closet white and the backs blue to mimic the built-ins, but I didn’t want to bother with those yet.

I should have done a better job with getting the same angles in pictures, but here’s a rough journey of the stages of the living room wall.

stages

And a quick fireplace look from before/after trim.

fireplaceI plan on painting the brass of the fireplace, but I have to finish everything else first. I am sooo close to being done and sooooo excited. It will actually look like a living room soon! Especially since I got a couch! (More on that later.)

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

share the love...

