friday favorites

This past weekend was my nephew Bradley’s first birthday. It is so hard to believe he’s already a year old! I’m sure it’s even harder for his parents than for me.

412701_10100577298436243_2054636601_o

Here’s a slightly blurry picture of Brad and I the day we met. He was a day old.

pure bliss

happy baby bw

And there are my two favorite pictures I took at his (third!) first birthday party. If that first picture doesn’t epitomize bliss, I’m not sure what does. He is such a handsome little guy, I can’t get over it. Also so sweet. I don’t want him to grow up too fast but I can’t waiiiit for him to start talking. Being called “Aunt Trina” will probably kill me dead. I also really love the second picture. I typically never turn any photos black and white but once I saw the picture, I knew it would work.

Where do the favorites come in, you ask? Well he is without a doubt, my favorite nephew. (Also my only nephew – shhh.) But the camera lens from the bottom two photos is my new favorite.

I only have two other lenses, so it’s not a huge contest (the 18-55mm kit lens and a nifty fifty). I bought the 50mm in July but only started using it during my photography class. I was in love, but it was limiting. I need to get better with zooming with my feet, but I felt like sometimes there wasn’t enough room to use it. I was eyeing up the Canon 28mm lens, but I couldn’t justify a $450 lens. Then I got an email for a sale (200$ off!) on the Sigma 30mm and I snatched that sucker up.

I love it! I was shocked at how solid the lens was when I pulled it out of the box. The 50mm is down right clunky in comparison.

It has been living on my camera for the past month and I won’t be taking it off anytime soon.

Here’s a bonus picture of Daisy caught in the act of cuddling with her hedgehog.

caught in the act

Leave a comment

share the love...

