mini-minnesota reunion

So two weeks ago, I went to Minnesota for a mini-family reunion, of sorts. My Aunt and Amma (Icelandic grandma) live in Minnesota. My Amma visited a lot when we were little, but I hadn’t seen her in over 20 years. I had never met my Aunt Linda, but thanks to the magic of the internet, we have been in touch for a few years. We all kept saying that we needed to visit and earlier this winter I decided we had talked enough, it was time to plan. I decided my spring break would make a perfect time and asked my siblings if they wanted to join. Both of my sisters were in but my brothers couldn’t, so we started to plan a sister’s weekend. My other aunt, Jamie, decided to fly in from New York making it a for real sisters reunion. We flew in Friday and back out Sunday and it was one of the most wonderful weekends of my life.

air

Once we got lower, I was pretending all the snow was white sand.

viking dr

We stayed on Viking Drive, which was fitting, since we are all part viking. After checking into the hotel, we drove to my Aunt Linda’s. I knew there would be tears since we were both crying the last time we talked on facebook, and there were a few tears shed when we first walked in. Then we walked down the hall to my Amma’s bedroom and as soon as the door opened, I just started sobbing. She looked exactly like I remembered and it simultaneously broke and made my heart swell. Breaking because so much time had passed, so much time missed out on, but swelled because we were here and she was exactly as I remembered.

We took some pictures:

family

Amma in front, then my aunt Jamie, my sister Amanda, me, my aunt Linda, my sister Kirrah.

And I took some pictures of aunt Linda’s cats. (I may have missed Daisy a little..)

kitties

bam

sikki

Both of the cats loved my coat, but Sikki especially. He spent both days camped out on it.

My Aunt Linda is an incredibe artists and after a few hours of chatting, she put on an art show for us. More of her work can be seen on her blog.

art

aunt linda's art

art
She gave us each a piece of art to take home, mine is the red/blue one on the couch.

art show

I also really loved the tree on the left. And my sister is trapped under piles of art.

On Sunday, she brought out the photos and we spent a few hours looking at those. I brought a bunch home to scan and make copies of, that might have been my favorite part of the weekend. There were many laughs and a few tears as well. And it was really awesome to see pictures of all sorts of identical blonde babies and not even be able to tell them apart.

photos

Speaking of…at one point, my cousin Kris walked in and having never met him before, as soon as I saw him, I gasped: “That’s Ross!”

the icelandic genes are strong
Behold, my cousin Kris and my brother Ross. They even had similar voices and dispositions. The Icelandic genes are strong.

dad's urn

And this big, beautiful box on the table is my dad’s urn that my aunt decorated. The photos do not even remotely do it justice, it is breathtaking. Unfortunately, it was really heavy so we were unable to bring it back with us, but dad can hang out there for a while longer before he comes home to his kids.

This weekend was so needed. I think we all needed it more than we even knew. I got to spend time and bond with my sisters, I got to meet two amazing aunts (seriously, they are amazing), and got to reunite with my amma after entirely too long. I think there will always be a hole in my heart from losing my dad so young, but this weekend went a long way towards patching it.

I can not wait until the next time we can get together and I really hope my brothers and maybe even some of my cousins can join. I wish I had taken more photos, but I was really just trying to soak up as much love as I could.

grandaughters

me, kirrah, amma, amanda

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  March 25, 2013

    Katrina that is so beautiful. Now your making me cry again. It was such an amazing visit . You girls are all so beautiful and. wonderful young ladies. I’m so happy I got to spend time with all of you. I would really like to meet your brothers too. Yes Amma looks so amazing I don’t think she ages ( we have good genes) I can’t wait to see you all again.

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  March 25, 2013

    Sorry that’s Aunt Jamie. Lol

    Reply
  1. a celebration of thanks: days 9-12 | jellyjars
  2. 2013 / age 27 | jellyjars

share the love...

