NYC 2013 (part 2)

Okay, when I left off, we had left Barcade and headed back to the hotel.

I took a nap while Keith read comic books on his iPad. (I got really used to these before dinner naps, they were hard to give up.)

So then it was time for dinner and Keith said that he did not want to leave Chinatown without eating Chinese food…so Yelp to the rescue again. We were just a few blocks from Joe’s Shanghai and with 2,000+ reviews, we figured we had to try it. Until I read some reviews and got a little nervous, but we headed over anyways.

So we walk in (luckily no line – there were probably 30 people in line when we left an hour later) and are seated at a big round table with two other groups. We are seated, given menus and a pot of tea. All the reviews said that you HAVE to get the soup dumplings, so we got those (I think I tried to order pork/crab as suggested, but I am pretty sure we only got crab) and pan fried noodles. I had no idea what pan fried noodles were but whatever the group across from us had looked delicious so I was trying to order that. In hindsight, I should have just asked/pointed.

So the restaurant is insanely busy, there are just about as many employees as patrons and they have different colored shirts on based on their job (? I think?). So it was hard to find someone to find to get some water, but eventually we did.

So then the food came out and the noodles were not at all what I expected. Still good though and Keith said they were the easiest thing he has tried to eat with chopsticks (no forks).

IMG_9690

The soup dumplings were awesome! I sort of had no idea what they were until we got them. They are little pillows of (in our case) crab…but also a broth…so you make a hole, slurp out the broth and then eat. They were a little messy, but before we got them, a group of old Asian people came and sat at our table and I was able to learn from watching them eat and not make a fool of myself. One of the women kept SCREAMING at the waiters in whatever language and it was sort of ridiculous.

IMG_9691

Another group came and sat with us and anything they asked the waiter, he was baffled by. They ordered fish, then asked to order a vegetable and he just kept saying “Vegetable?” over and over until she said “What kind do you have?” Then he rolls his eyes and starts listing them off. They really blew his mind when they asked for another spoon. (And I don’t believe this was a language barrier, he spoke English perfectly well…I guess they are just Soup (dumpling) Nazis.)

Then we headed over for the 2nd night of KATG festivities which was a live version of the “What’s My Name” show podcast, hosted by Chemda, the girl. The show was all about bad roommates and it was pretty hilarious. Another afterparty at which we did not exactly party and then home to bed.

_MG_9782This was a very slight ramp to our Broolyn subway stop and it freaked me out a little bit. I think I played too much Tomb Raider as a child because I kept expecting a giant boulder to come rolling down after us.

_MG_9732

Sunday! I was really excited for Sunday. The one thing I wanted to do was go to Smorgasburg, a Brooklyn Flea Food Market. It was in the same area as all the shows, so very convenient to where we were staying. It was a gorgeous day and people were out in droves.

_MG_9725

_MG_9719

The food is actually inside that structure. This was just spillover of people eating. I had really wanted to try Milk Truck, but the line was soooo long that I just couldn’t do it. We had carnitas tacos from Choncho’s Tacos which were pretty good, a chicken burger with granny smith apples, goat cheese and cranberries that was OUT OF THIS WORLD from Bossa Nova Chicken Burgers. (That was Keith’s suggestion, I wanted a different burger but I am so glad I listened to him.) Bossa Nova was right next to Red Hook Lobster Pound and we both really wanted a lobster roll but at 16$ it seemed a little pricey. The line was enormous and I have heard they are worth it. Next time! We kept passing this booth with MASSIVE black and white cookies, and as a B&W cookie lover, I had to try.

Untitled

It was from Lassen and Hennigs and even though that may look like a domed cookie, it was not. The cookie was perfectly flat and there was at least a 1/2″ of icing…which proved to be way too much. I like B&W cookies for the slightly hard icing…and this was more like frosting. It was good…but I kind of wanted to die after I ate it. While I was suffering through my sugar shock, Keith got an arepa from Palenque. Aside from the burger, this was my second favorite.

_MG_9714
Although it was a little hard to eat with the paper plate and bamboo fork, it was delicious. But! The crowing glory of Smorgasburg was again something Keith chose. A 6$ icecream sandwich from The Good Batch.
_MG_9721

This is the only picture I have of it. It was the MG – flourless chocolate cookie, roasted crunchy peanut butter, sea salt, Blue Marble vanilla ice cream. The flourless chocolate cookie sealed the deal. It was so flaky and almost like a chocolate macaron and just thinking about it, my mouth is watering. I only got 2-3 bites but it was the best thing ever.

_MG_9726

I love old brick buildings. I especially loved the stars on this one.

_MG_9728Some cute door on a random side street.

_MG_9729Ha, this picture is not the best, but I was trying to be covert. This guy was dressed pink head-to-toe but his shoes were insane! Pink poodles!

Sunday we had dinner at Barrio Chino – a tiny, unmarked Mexican place in Chinatown. We got guacamole, then Keith got enchiladas verdes and I got calamari tacos. Everything was awesome.

Untitled

They had a pretty awesome looking drink menu, but we didn’t partake. I loved how the food was all served on blue china.

Monday we met up with a friend/photographer in an attempt to do a mini-engagement session but it was cold/windy and since he was working alone he thought it would be better to postpone til we got back to Pittsburgh. So we shot a few but then just went and had a drink and chatted.

Monday night was the big stand-up show. After the show, the final after party. All of the afterparties had been held in this neat space on the 9th floor of this building.

_MG_9711

Well..the final night…the elevator got stuck…with people inside! The FDNY came and we had to wait outside for probably a good 20-30 minutes. Idiot that I am, I packed for Pittsburgh weather (which was 10 degrees warmer all week) and had to stand there in a dress/sandals.
Untitled

Eventually the people were rescued, but the elevator was unusable. So everyone climbed up 9 flights of stairs to the final afterparty. And since I don’t want to make another post…I’m going to end this with a bunch of pictures. Including this one by our friend Newsy.

heh

IMG_9702

IMG_9701

Someone opened a window on the 9th floor and I took advantage to get some shots of the gorgeous view.

_MG_9708

_MG_9707

_MG_9705

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. what’s cookin? spinach edition | jellyjars

share the love...

