He can call me a flower if he wants to; I don’t mind.

So I was off yesterday (thank you election day!) and at one point was walking through the living room (avoiding homework) and happened to glance out the window and saw something walking through the yard. I couldn’t figure out what it was since I can’t see very far without my glasses. I grabbed my camera and snapped a picture to see if I could zoom in on the photo and see it better.

_MG_9574

Uh. yea. At this point I figure maybe it is a bird. Or just a leaf and I made up seeing it walk over.

I get back to doing some homework and forget all about it.

Until Keith comes home and I head out to pick up sticks so he can cut the grass. We just had our tractor tuned up so he hasn’t been able to cut the majority of the yard. So I’m walking over and stop dead in my tracks because I see this little fella.

IMG_9576

IMG_9577

IMG_9578

IMG_9580

(Click any picture to view it larger on flickr)

Keep in mind that’s a 30mm lens so I was close. I kept expecting a mama deer to rush out of the woods and trample me, but nobody ever did. The poor little deer was just laying there, not moving, I was literally two feet away. I thought about going to get it some water or something, but then it just took off.

_MG_9582

The picture is all blown out because I was not expecting it to bolt and didn’t have time to change the camera settings. I am sad for the deer because I feel like it probably lost its mama. He decided to curl up in our uncut grass to rest/hide and then I had to go and bother him. I really hope the other band of deer that wander through our yard adopt him. Poor little deer. Keith’s didn’t cut all of the grass, so I hope he comes back, it’s safe here.

*Edited to add: I just read up on white tailed fawns and it looks like if they are under 3 weeks old their mothers will leave them for up to 10 hours while feeding since they can’t quite keep up. Hopefully that is all that happened! I will keep an eye out for him though.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ooohh little baby deer how cute! I too hope the little one is ok and his momma comes back to get him.

    Reply

share the love...

