summertime and the living is easy

Except it’s not. I am taking two summer classes and they are killing me. Not that they are insanely hard or anything but they are super time consuming. Every day after work, I homework until dinner, maybe a little homework after. I just want to come home from work and sit on the couch like the rest of middle class America. Please someone remind me that this will all be worth it one day?

I have done exactly zero home improvement (minus the doorknob replacing) since January. I just want to paint! (Well, I just want someone to finish my livingroom trim so that I can paint my entryway.) I have three weeks off of class in August, I think I’m going to paint every single day so maybe I can finish the dang house.

In other non-easy news, my transmission gave up the ghost last week. On the way to work, my car would not go over 35, was jerking all around, it was pretty scary. The shop doesn’t open until 9, so I figured I’d go to work then call when they opened. Well the last 3 or so blocks to work were so jerky that I ended up in tears by the time I pulled into the parking lot. And then I tried to park and my car started drifting backwards while in drive. Cue more tears.

When I was finally able to call at 9, the mechanic said the sooner I could bring it over the better. I have a history of taking my car to the shop the day after having problems and them not being able to find a single issue. Three times! So he said that, I agreed and someone I work with was kind enough to follow me over.

A few hours later, I get the phonecall. Transmission. Wah.

I hemmed and hawed for another hour or so if I wanted to fix it and ultimately decided to go ahead. Keith and I both have older cars and will both soon be in the market for new cars, but with a wedding next year, now was not a good time.

They said it wouldn’t be done until Tuesdsay or Wednesday, so that meant baby’s first rental car. I went and picked it up Thursday morning and they gave me a 2013 Kia Rio. It is so cute! I don’t want my car back, I want a new car! I have never driven a car younger than 10 and this one is an infant. Although I did drive it on the highway for the first time Sunday and it felt like it was made of tin scraps and super glue, so maybe I don’t want a Kia.

even this dragonfly likes my ride

Even this dragonfly liked my ride.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Beth

     /  June 25, 2013

    I feel you on the summer classes. Sometimes I think grad school was the worst decision that will be worth it in the end. It’s the right now that is killing me. It is exactly the “I just want to come home from work and sit on the couch like the rest of middle class America.” feeling.

    Hang in there.

    Reply
    • thanks beth! during the school year I know other people are slogging too as well, but I feel like nobody ever takes summer classes (even if they do). ahhh one day we can be couch-sitters. very accomplished-feeling couch sitters.

      Reply
  2. Awww thats what i have, a kia rio. I never thought it was made of scraps, but it was scary at first to go from a 2001 buick lesabre to a teeny tiny kia rio! You should look at the elantra and sonata when you are in the market! Hyundai is Kia’s parent company, but the cars are better. I also suggest the buick verano (it’s small but sturdy) aaaannnd also look at the chevy cruze. :))) let’s go car shopping!!!! All get great gas mileage too.

    Reply
    • Haha, yea going from my tank of a Honda to that I just felt like when I went past a semi on the highway I was being pushed off the road, it feels so light! It is a zippy little car otherwise!

      Haha, I gotta make this Honda last another 4-5 years, but then I’ll be ready to go shopping! that chevy is cute! that is the first criteria for my next car, that it is cute, haha.

      Reply
  3. I agree that cute cars are a must! All my salesmen buddies make fun of me b/c i want a cute xover next (looking at either hyundai tucson or buick encore) and i like them both b/c they are cuuute!

    But with that honda, i think you are in luck….those are beasts!

    Reply

share the love...

