summer cleaning…

Ready for the most boring post in the history of the internet?

Here goes.

Since I have no time for any sort of painting or home improvement projects, I decided over the weekend to finally tackle something that has been driving me insane for over a year. The pantry/kitchen cupboards.

When we moved into our last apartment, I took time before unpacking any kitchen boxes to decide where everything would live. I then put those things in there places and everyone lived happily ever after.

Until we moved. And I was trying to paint the kitchen and needed the boxes out of the way so things just got shoved in cupboards. No rhyme, no reason, just chaos. And so it went for the next 15 months.

Until I finally had enough. I couldn’t find anything, I kept buying doubles of things, there were items that I bought and NEVER used that were probably expired, items we just don’t eat anymore (packaged noodles, pasta in general) things would fall out of the cupboard and on the rare occasion someone would open a cupboard I would just feel shame wash over me.

pantrybefore

The pantry before. Note: These are crappy iphone pictures because I was not pulling out the big camera to take these photos. I am totally ashamed to post this picture, but luckily it no longer looks like that. You can’t even see all the stuff on the floor, that pile was at least a foot high. Also of note is the jar of skittles, Keith made skittles vodka a year or two ago…those are the leftovers. That cake flour was from 2009. Shameful.

I took everything out, checked every date and filled an entire garbage bag.

pantryafter

Hey! Look! A floor! (With some weird trivets(?) that I have no idea where they came from and a basket of Keith’s pretzels.

We have organization! We have another cake flour that wasn’t produced in 2009! We have a healthy love of green beans and mexican food! I was also able to pull pantry items out of other random cupboards so everything is all in one place. I have since also shoved the vaccuum in there but I think I need to take it out becuase it is ruining my view.

There is another shelf up top that I couldn’t fit in the picture, but it just has paper towels on it now. I want to put in another shelf on the bottom because there are still things I can’t fit in the pantry like my collection of oils/vinegars and there is just wasted space.

Now these other cupboards were a much bigger deal because I didn’t have to go in the pantry every day, but I did have to open these cupboards since they were home to my spices. Months and months and months ago, I bought some glass jars/risers and organized my spices all nicely. I wanted to show everyone but the rest of the cupboard was so ridiculous, I couldn’t. Until now.

cupbefore

Ignore everything else and just look at my beautiful spices. I didn’t want to mess up the look so i labeled them on the top and end up picking up 2-3 spices before I get the one I want, but they are sooo pretty. Again, I took everything out…

cupduring

Haaaaaaaaaa. How fun. I found 3 canisters of cocoa, 2 almost completely full. Two of pepper, two salts, two oatmeals.

cupafter

This after is not as dramatic as the pantry after, I still need to do something with the shelf above the spices. Thinking of getting another one of those risers. And still need a measuring cup/spoon system, but I can breeeeeeeeeeeeathe.

I also cleaned out my closet a few weeks ago but it is back to being a disaster area. I really really need a dresser.

I really want to go clean/organize something else now. I did the tupperware cupboard after this, I have slowly been replacing all my cheap gladware stuff with pyrex storage containers and I love them but they are not as easy to store as plastic that you can shove and squeeze places. But sorry, I forgot to take a picture. (I know you are devestated.)

In more exciting news, we have our engagement pictures tonight! We have been engaged for 2 years and one week exactly, haha, but better late than never! Our photographer is Hot Metal Studio and I am soooooooooo excited. I am also incredibly awkward in front of a camera, but I have faith in them. Yay!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. yOU MAKE ME SMILE kAT !

    Reply
  2. Everything looks beautiful 🙂

    Reply

share the love...

