pittsburgh restaurant week – part 1

So last week was Pittsburgh Restaurant Week, I’m not sure what year we are going on with this…at least 3? It is run by someone new these days so I can’t find when it started but for the past two years they have done a Summer week and a Winter week.

In the beginning, the deal was participating restaurants would offer something on their menu for the price of the year. We first went in 2010 and got some awesome deals at Ibiza and Nakama for $20.10. I think they must have had trouble keeping up with that because while some restaurants did offer a $20.13 special, there were many $30/$35 specials.

I obviously like the $20.13 specials the best and think that it’s a great opportunity to get customers in that wouldn’t normally pay your higher prices. Once they discover how delicious you are, they’ll come back! But what do I know?

This time around, Keith and I were talking about where we wanted to go and I mentioned that we should try totally new places. We typically always hit up Verde, but we had been not too long ago and I thought it would be fun to try something new!

Our first stop was Burgh’ers in Harmony on a Tuesday night and were completely starving by the time we got there. The GPS also put us behind a sketchy old warehouse and said that we had arrived. It only took a few more minutes to actually find it and we were seated immediately despite the small restaurant size.

Burgh’ers’ special was 1 appetizer and 2 burgers (with fries) for $20.13. The burgers are about $10 a piece so you were esentially getting a free appetizer. Not a bad deal.

We ordered the seafood tacos for our appetizer and we inhaled them so quickly I didn’t think to take a picture. They were really good though. Big pieces of salmon with really fresh pico de gallo and jalapeno slices and some sort of delicious sauce.

I loved that all of the burgers at Burgh’ers were named after Pittsburgh neighborhoods. Keith got the Morningside which had bacon and an egg on it. I got the Harmony which had cheddar, caramelized onions, jalapenos, horseradish and BBQ aioli. When I saw a fried pierogie was an available topping, I paid 95 cents to add that to my burger. Go big or go home, right?

image1

The burgers were awesome. My pierogie was a fine addition although I think the Harmony needed either horseradish or BBQ aioli, I’m not sure I really like that combination of both. The buns were great, really fresh, really soft so that even though the burger was the size of my head, I could still bite down. The fries were also awesome. They have a few different options for fries, but we just had their plain fries and they were great. Fresh, well salted, crispy.

Harmony is a bit far out there from us, especially with the stupid 910 detour that is ruining my life, so I’m not sure when I will make it back up there, but if you ever find yourself up that way it is definitely worth a stop.

Burgh'ers on Urbanspoon

Previous Post
Leave a comment

share the love...

