dog food 101

So school is back in session. It is actually the 3rd week of classes, but both of mine were cancelled last week so it doesn’t feel like we are that far along. I think I really made the right choice in switching out of my self-paced Politics class. Courseweb thinks I am still enrolled so I went on and peeked at the syllabus and hooo-boy, I’d be dying by now. Instead, my other two classes are pretty decent! My Japanese class on Monday was an hour of lecture and an hour documentary and we got out 30 minutes early. I love when that happens. The professor seems pretty nice, she has some sort of Eastern European accent so along with my other Russian professor, it will be a very aurally interesting semester!

In my other class, The Archaeologist Looks at Death, I gave a group presentation last night. Five other group members and it actually may have been the least annoying group project ever. One guy didn’t submit his stuff until quite a bit later than everyone else so I was a little nervous for a second, but we all met up before the class, went over it and I think we rocked it. One of the guys gave everyone fist bumps after we sat down, haha. Two other groups also presented and our PowerPoint was totally the prettiest, made by yours truly. 😉

Other than that, not much else is new. Daisy has been having some digestive issues lately, she was just at the vet and everything checked out just fine, but she was not fine. I finally realized that maybe it was her food. Someone directed me to dogfoodadvisor.com and I did a bit of poking around to find something a bit better than the Purina we had been feeding her. It turns out there is an Agway in Mars that carries a lot of the better brands, but I figured I’d check Giant Eagle first. Giant Eagle only carried *one* of the 5 star dog foods, Nutrisca, so I grabbed that. Holy cow is it pricey. The price per ounce of the Purina was 6.x cents and the price per ounce of the Nutrisca was 20.x cents. Yikes. But if it’s better for her and stops making her sick, I will pay it.

So I got home and scooped her out a cup, she ate it…and 10 minutes later puked. Ugggggggggggh. Keith had cautioned me about mixing it in with her old food but I had never ever done that before and she had always been fine. Besides, I didn’t want to mix in her old food with it because that would keep making her sick. So for the past few days I’ve been mixing rice/boiled meat/cottage cheese with ever increasing amounts of food and she’s kept it all down. And not been sick. So looks like my already spoiled doghter is even more spoiled now with her grain free/gluten free/potato free/low glycemic food.

photo
Here’s a picture of Daisy looking like a polar bear.

Leave a comment

share the love...

