from geek to geek

In somewhat of a mood today but I am trying to get better with posting. Trying for a MWF goal and since today is W, here we go! Just a few random points.

1. I’m done running. For some bizarre reason I want to be a runner. I see people running on the streets and just think “Man I wish I could do that!” I tried. Three different attempts at Couch to 5k, each lasting longer than the last…each giving me barely any satisfaction. Sure I liked that I ran…after I ran…but the entire time I was going, I hated it. HATED it. It was boring. Music didn’t help, podcasts didn’t help, Zombies Run didn’t help. I was still going though. Then I hurt my  foot. Still no idea what I did to my foot, my doctor ordered x-rays and they showed nothing, but I’m still having pain. Was told to stay off my foot and figured that I’m just done. I’m signed up for the Color Run on Saturday, so I’ll do that and then I quit.

2. Decided since I am officially quitting “running”, I can devote time to weight training with Keith. Day 1 was Saturday and we did squats among other things. My legs still hurt today. I could hardly walk the day after. It was a good pain though. I also don’t mind weights as much as running. Maybe because Keith is there too? I will admit I didn’t hate running as much when he ran with me, but he also hates running, so it’s just not gonna happen. So look out. Pretty soon* I’ll be able to beat people up.

*Or in like 7 years. I actually had to take all the weight off the bar for one exercise since I couldn’t lift the weight + the bar. Pretty pathetic.

3. I was just thinking the other day about how many classes I have taken since I’ve been back in school and I was pretty shocked to see that I’ve gone through 15 classes. Currently enrolled in my 16th and 17th. The Spring schedule gets posted on Friday and I can’t wait. I love picking out new classes. Pretty much hate going once they start, but it’s fun to see what the possibilities are. Also figured out that of my 15 classes, I’ve gotten 10 A’s and 5 B’s. Pretty damn good. Only 8 classes left. Then I have to figure out what I am doing with my life. Grad school? Student teaching? Running off to Nairobi to be an archaeologist/start a real Jurassic Park? My options are endless.

 

4. Daisy says “No more school, mom, you’re smart enough.”

dddais

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Daisy is adorable!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I used to love running, but I just can’t do it anymore. The impact is too hard, especially on my back. If you ever feel the need for cardio, I can highly recommend Jillian Michaels DVDs (or On Demand). Her workouts are HARD, but short, and can be as high impact as you want.

    Hope your foot feels better soon!

    Reply
    • Thank you! I hadn’t yet had any back/knee issues from running, but I think I am getting knee issues from tucking my legs up under me at my desk. (Really need to stop that.) I had tried a Jillian Michaels workout yeaaaars ago and it nearly killed me. I should probably give it another go now that I’m in better shape.

      Reply

share the love...

