class-y.

Yesterday, I was able to register for my penultimate (!!) spring semester. Since I now have a slightly better work schedule, my options were a little more open than they have been in the past 3 years. My ideal class would be 4:45 – 7:15, giving me enough time to eat something before class (but not an excess of time) and getting me home not super later. Alas, that class time only exists in my mind. But! I could look at 4:30 classes!

I was going back and forth between two different options but ultimately settled on:

The Portuguese Empire (I need a World History course)

Anthropology of Memory (Writing Intensive)

I’ll have class Monday, 4:30-5:45 and 6:00-8:30 and then on Wednesday just 4:30-5:45. I am a little nervous about the double dose of class on Monday, ((almost 4 hours of class!) and when can I eat dinner?!) but kind of excited to see what a 2x a week class feels like again. I also love the fact that I will get home by 6:30 or so on Wednesdays.

Another option I had was to take the 6:00-8:30 class on Mondays and a 4:30-6:55 class on Wednesdays, but those were both seminars (one writing intensive) and I thought that might kill me. A little bummed to not get to take that class though. It was Anthropology of Emotion and the professor had great reviews. It’s also a Special Topics class which means it’s offered very infrequently.

Choosing classes is getting a little tough. After the upcoming Spring semster, I only have 6 classes left. And I unfortunately have 4 specific classes I need to take, in addition to 2 additional Anthropology classes. So gone are the days of having 13 classes to choose from, now it’s pretty much pray that what I need is offered when I can take it.

The end is in sight, you guys.

(I started at Pitt in 2004 and went until 2006. Then one semester off turned into 2, turned into 3 years off. Now this is my 3rd year back, part-time and I am so ready for it to be over. As much as I do enjoy school (I know, nerd), I miss being able to come home from work and do nothing. Instead it’s anxiety and guilt about what I need to do/what I should be doing.

Now I just need to figure out what I’m doing after my undergrad. The long-term plan has always been the School of Education. I have an email in to meet with someone from there and discuss options. I don’t know how much more schooling I can take, but I also know a degree in Anthropology is not going to get me far in Pittsburgh.)

Leave a comment

share the love...

