a celebration of thanks, days 1-4

I am a member of the Pittsburgh Blogger group on facebook and since I am pretty much the most slacker of bloggers, I don’t really have much to contribute. Several days late, I noticed a post from Nicole over at Champagne to Crayons about her plan to use the month of November to celebrate things for which she is thankful. Several other bloggers are joining in, so I decided to as well! I can’t promise that I will post every day, but I’ll complete all the prompts!

28daysofbeingthankful

I think this is a great idea. Especially for when I am feeling crabby (like right now!) to remind myself that I have it pretty damn good.

So, let’s try and catch up.

Day 1: A Blessing

Would it be totally cheating to say the Internet? I really don’t know where my life would be without it. Through the internet I’ve found my job, my home, my future husband (and by proxy my dog), made friends, kept friends, found family, not to mention the fact that through the internet I am able to have a beef jerky subscription. A beef jerky subscription. Totally #blessed.

Day 2: A Time When You Were Strong

I’m going to toot my own horn and say daily, if not weekly. I have so much on my plate right now that past-Katrina would be in awe of me. Past-Katrina would get so bored/depressed with life she would flit around from part-time job to part-time job. I’ve now been at my current (full-time) job for 4 years and 3 of those years have also included me attending school part-time. I have very little free time, yet I have been able to keep it all together without getting fired/dropping out/failing out and I am pretty freaking stoked. Just a little over 1.5 years left.

Day 3: A Person That Lifts You Up

Keith and I don’t have a very mushy relationship. I am definitely the mushier one, but he is pretty solid. (Solid? I dunno, non-mushy = solid.) There’s no baby-talk or kissy faces (except for the emoji I send him) so it feels a little weird to say him, but it has to be him. He keeps me centered and grounded and also, in his own way, lifts me up. And thanks to all his weight lifting can probably actually physically lift me up though I’m not sure that has ever been attempted. Things just got weird, didn’t they?

Day 4: Family

Oh my family. My crazy, loud, gigantic, amazing family. I was thinking earlier today about the fact that my mom is the oldest of 7. SEVEN. And everyone gets together on Sundays at my grandparents house. ((Except me, because I am the black sheep of the North Hills (Just kidding, but I truly do live the furthest away by a good 30 minutes.)) This is just incredible. If I wasn’t so busy (See Day 2) I would be down there every Sunday as well. Everyone doesn’t get along 100% of the time, but there is still an incredible bond there between everyone and despite any arguments, people are always quick to forgive. I am confident that I could pick up my phone and dial any one of them for a favor and if it is in their power to help, they would not hesitate for a second. And I hope they know the same goes for me!

I also need to give a shoutout to my dad’s family too. After living most of my life not really knowing any of them, through the power of the internet, I’ve been able to be in contact with (and meet!) a few of them that I may not have otherwise. So to my giant concentrated in Canonsburg maternal family and my small, spread out across the country paternal family, I love you all dearly and am incredibly thankful for you.

Oh! And can’t forget my future in-laws. You are also the best. I seriously hit the in-law jackpot. From Keith’s parents to his aunts/uncles/cousins, they could not have been more welcoming and loving and truly treat me like I have always been a part of the family, which is awesome.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

share the love...

