a celebration of thanks: day 5

28daysofbeingthankful

Day 5: Friends

I will be the first to admit that I don’t have a ton of friends, but I am 99%* okay with this. I am pretty introverted and honestly love nothing more than sitting at home with Keith and Daisy. I have a handful of friends that I see here and again. I probably should make an effort to see them more, but we are all pretty busy.

My best friend, Ryan, I have known since Mrs. Smutney’s AM Kindergarten. We lost touch for a few years when I moved out of the school district, but when I came back it was pretty much like nothing had changed. He worked at the Tiny Store with me in highschool and though we did go to different colleges we’d catch up nearly daily on the phone and on breaks. There have been a few occasions where we’ve gone a few weeks/months without talking but can get back together like nothing has changed. We currently email each other approximately 25 times a day.

He can drive me absolutely crazy at times, but he can also crack me up like no one else. We have been friends for over 20 years and that just blows my mind. I can’t wait to see what the next 20 years of friendship hold for us, because I know we’re not going anywhere. So even though I know he will gloat on this for at least the next few days, I am thankful for you, Ryan. (Gross.)

Ryan and I in 1st or 2nd grade.

Ryan and I in 1st or 2nd grade.

a hilarious picture from 5-6 years ago. i chose this one because of how nice my hair looks, obviously.

a hilarious picture from 5-6 years ago. i obviously chose this one because of how nice my hair looks.

 

*Every once in a while I wish I had a few more friends, people to go to dinner with or hang out with, not to replace my current friends, but in addition. But then I remember how much I love sitting on my couch and forget all about it.

Leave a comment

share the love...

