a celebration of thanks: days 13-18

28daysofbeingthankful

Day 13: Book

I have always been a reader. I don’t know when I learned to read but I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love it. I would read everywhere: on the bus, in the bathtub, at the dinner table. (One of my favorite times to read, still, is while eating. Once books got banned from the table, I’d read cereal boxes – ingredients and everything. It’s pretty rude to read at the dinner table, but if Keith isn’t home, you can bet I have my kindle accompanying me.) I think it was about 3rd grade when I really got into books. I vividly remember reading Matilda for the first time. Oh, how that book spoke to me. Though our circumstances were not exact (no emotionally abuse parents/telekinesis over here) I really identified with her. And she loved to read too! I fell deeply in love with books then and 20 years later, we are¬†still going strong. It was also my first experience with watching a book I loved be turned into a movie, which was a pretty magical thing for a child.

Day 14: A Life Lesson

I guess my failure from Day 7 was also a life lesson. I am a grown adult and I have to take responsibility for my actions, whether I want to or not. Sometimes I literally have to say to myself, “Katrina, you are an adult. No one is going to do this for you.” I think I’ve got a much better handle on things now.

Day 15: Charity

When I was 15 years old, my house caught fire. It was a few days before Christmas and we lost almost everything. We also were renters…with no insurance. Pretty terrible. But I will never forget the kindness of strangers. They took up a collection at school, there were collections at various places around town, people came in droves to my grandparents house to drop off donations, it was truly incredible. I look back and no longer care about the things we lost, I just think of how incredible people can be.

Day 16: A Shining Moment

Oh, geez. I don’t know. Maybe when I was re-accepted to Pitt? When I had to drop out at 20, my plan was always to go back at 24. But then the time came and I had no idea how it worked. Did I have to apply again? Would they take me back? Would I be better off re-applying elsewhere? And then I called and they told me it was a mere $40 reinstatement fee and tada! That was a shining moment. Realizing I could get back in right where I left off.

Day 17: Health

I am thankful for my health. Minus a bout of Pleurisy in 2005 and a few gallbladder attacks (which led to the removal of the jerk in 2010) – I’m pretty healthy! Keith has had pretty bad migraines for a long time but thanks to some changes in diet over the past year or two those aren’t nearly as frequent as they used to be and I’m thankful for that too.

Day 18: A Daily Indulgence

Calling back to Number 13, my consistent daily indulgence is reading. I try to spend my lunch breaks at work reading (which makes me pretty anti-social) and I also like to read for 30minutes – an hour before bed. I find it kind of amusing that I will hurry up and try to finish schoolwork (usually reading) so that I can relax and read. Haha.

Leave a comment

share the love...

