Grocery template

So there is a whollle bunch going on in my life right now which will have to be a series of other posts but for now I have an extremely nerdy update to share. This picture I posted on instagram got a lot of love (way more than ever expected), so I figured it deserved a post. I present to you, my grocery shopping template.

officially a #granny with my grocery list template.

I had seen something similar on either BoingBoing or The Consumerist, but it was just a picture, no link or anything. I thought “Oh, what a great idea!” and then went on my way. A few weeks later, a few grocery trips later, where I accidentally deleted things off my phone while shopping and I realized I needed to make it a reality.

A few minutes in Word, and I had it. I did a mental walk through of my Giant Eagle and made a list of all the things I buy over and over again. Going through and checking things off/circling them is so much easier than writing things down. And also I think makes me a little less prone to forget something. If I see onions already there on my list, I can remember to check it off easier than I can remember to write it down.

I also left lots of spots for “other” so that I can add the random things I need to buy that week. I emailed it to a bunch of people yesterday but finally figured out how to include it in the blog post so anyone can download it.

After I print it and fill it out, I fold it into thirds and just slip it into my wallet. Then, when I am shopping, I can just follow along as I walk through the store. I only had to backtrack once yesterday and that was because I was at a different store where the bread is in the middle, not at the end.

It’s just a simple word document, so it can be edited very easily. So feel free to download/edit/use and if it saves you even 5 minutes in your list writing/shopping, that’s pretty awesome.

Grocery Template

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous

     /  March 26, 2014

    I knew you could do it!

    Reply

share the love...

