nerd alert 2014

This marks the 3rd year I’ve recapped my reading adventures, like a proper dork.

In 2012, I read 100 books.

In 2013, I read 114 books.

I had secret hopes to read more than 114 books this year, but with the first half of the year dedicated to the whole wedding thing, I didn’t stand a chance. I still came in at a very respectable 104.

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 5.02.37 PM

Within those 104 books, I read 31,617 pages which comes to 86 pages per day. The longest book I read was World Without End by Ken Follett which clocked in at 1,014 pages, coming in not far behind were Fall of Giants at 985 and Winter of the World at 940. Also by Ken Follett. That guy likes to write…

Some of my favorites this year in no particular order…

1. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

2. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

3. Sand Omnibus by Hugh Howey

4. The End is Nigh by Various Authors

5. The End is Now by Various Authors

6. World Without End by Ken Follett

7. Fall of Giants by Ken Follett

8. Winter of the World by Ken Follett

9. Silo 49 Series by Ann Christy

10. The Runner Series by W.J. Davies

11. The Sisterhood by Helen Bryan

12. Humanity Gone Series by Derek Deremer

I guess the theme of this year was a lot of series. I love a good series. Why read one book on a subject when I can read 3+!

I also got into fan fiction a bit this year. The Silo 49 series and The Runner series were based set in the world of Hugh Howey’s Wool, still one of my favorite series of all time. It was so fun to jump back into that world with different characters and perspectives.

Oh, and one audio book. It was okay. Someone recommended Amy Poehler’s book as an audio book so I may try that next. I just read too fast, audio books slow me down. Unless I can figure out how to read a book while listening to a book. Now there’s a thought!

No huge disappointments this year, I didn’t rate anything 1 star! There were a few 2 star books but they were all amazon freebies.

I still have about 15 new books on my kindle that I didn’t get a chance to read this year. I put 14 new books on for our honeymoon and only got through 3-4. Lots of reading to catch up on in 2015. Since I will only be in school for 4 months of 2015, maybe I can crack 125 books! Happy reading!

Leave a comment

share the love...

